Space For Rent

Space For Rent
Monday, March 9, 2015, Falgun 25, 1421 BS, Jamadi ul Awwal 17, 1436 Hijr

Bangladesh, New Zealand, Australia and Sri Lanka qualify for quarter-final from Pool A
Observer Online Desk
Published : Monday, 9 March, 2015,  Time : 7:03 PM,  View Count : 20
England’s loss to Bangladesh in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Pool A match at Adelaide finalised the four spots in contention for the quarter-final round. Co-hosts New Zealand and Australia, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are the four teams which will go into the next round.

In the process, Bangladesh cleared the path for Sri Lanka to join New Zealand and Australia from their pool in the last eight. New Zealand are sitting pretty at the top with 10 points, while Bangladesh and Australia have seven points each. Sri Lanka have six points, while fifth-placed England slumped to their fourth loss in five matches. They have two points, the same as Afghanistan.

According to AFP, Bangladesh knocked England out of the World Cup with a sensational 15-run Pool A victory at the Adelaide Oval on Monday to make the quarter-finals. Rubel Hossain was Bangladesh’s star at the finish, clean bowling Stuart Broad and last man James Anderson to seal victory for the Tigers as England finished on 260 all out chasing a target of 276.

By the look of thing, Bangladesh is likely to face defending champion India in the World Cup. New Zealand is likely to finish on top of Pool A and is most likely to face either of Ireland or West Indies, but there is a remote possibility that they may face Pakistan too.

Earlier, Bangladesh — who had been eight for two — made 275 for seven after being sent into bat, with Mohammad Mamudullah (103) compiling the country’s first individual World Cup hundred and Mushfiqur Rahim making 89. Defeat meant England — whose only win at the tournament so far has been against non-Test Scotland — couldn’t claim a quarter-final place but Bangladesh’s victory saw them into the last eight along with Sri Lanka. New Zealand and Australia complete the qualifying picture from Pool A for the quarter-finals.

Australia and New Zealand from Pool A and India from Pool B have already qualified for the quarter-final stage. Australia will play its quarter-final in Adelaide on Friday, 20 March while New Zealand will play its quarter-final in Wellington on Saturday, 21 March with the opponents of the co-hosts still to be determined.

India’s venue is also yet to be confirmed, and will depend on its Pool A opponent.

Quarter-final matches:
Quarter-final 1 – A1 v B4
Quarter-final 2 – A2 v B3
Quarter-final 3 – A3 v B2
Quarter-final 4 – A4 v B1

*A1 means the side that tops Pool A, while B4 means the side that finishes fourth in Pool B


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]