Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has decided to stay away from making the questionable no-ball call by the umpires during the World Cup quarterfinal against India more controversial.
“Well, everyone saw what happened. I don’t want to say anything about this,” he told a press conference after the match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Thursday.
The Tigers ended their most successful World Cup campaign so far, finally going down to India by 109 runs.
During their innings, Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina put India back in the game with an excellent 122-run partnership after they were pegged back at 115 for 3.
The pair was fortunate, though.
Raina had 10 to his name when he survived a close lbw review, with replays showing he was roughly 1mm from being given out.
Rohit, too, was lucky. He pulled a Rubel full toss straight to the fielder on the fence at square leg, but umpires Aleem Dar and Ian Gould deemed it a no-ball for height.
Replays showed it was under the waist when Rohit played it.
Rohit then went on to smash his maiden World Cup century to take India to 302 for 6.
Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s short answer at the post-match media call came when asked whether the team’s focus was disturbed when the two decisions did not go their way.