Space For Rent

Space For Rent
Tuesday, July 7, 2015, Ashar 23, 1422 BS, Ramadan 19, 1436 Hijr

South Africa seal T20I series against Bangladesh 2-0
Observer Online Desk
Published : Tuesday, 7 July, 2015,  Time : 6:01 PM,  View Count : 26
Mighty South Africa sealed the T20I series 2-0 beating Bangladesh by 31 runs in the second match of the NPOLY National Polymer T20I Cricket Series at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur on Tuesday.

The visitors defeated the hosts by 52 runs in the first T20I on July 5 at the same venue. This series victory for Proteas came at their fourth T20I battle against Bangladesh.

Chasing a target of 170 runs in the day’s match, the Tigers were all out for 138 runs in 19.2 overs.

Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar made a good start contributing 46 runs in 5.5 overs, before Tamim was out for 13 off 18 balls with one four, was caught by David Wiese off Wayne Parnell delivery.

Soumya Sarkar hit the highest 37 runs off 21 balls featuring six fours and one six, before he was stumped by Quinton de Kock off a debut Eddie Leie delivery at team’s 55 for 2 in 6.5 overs.

Soon after Soumya, Shakib Al Hasan (8 off 14b) was caught by Rilee Rossouw off a Aaron Phangiso bowling at 69 for 3 in 10.1 overs.

Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim and Nasir Hossain failed to perform in the game’s transition point as the trio were respectively out on the team’s same score at 82 runs, within four deliveries, from 11.4 overs to 12.2 overs.

Mushfiqur Rahim scored 19 off 16 runs with one four and one six and was caught by Rilee Rossouw off an Eddie Leie delivery.

Batting at number seven, debutant Rony Talukder hit 21 off 22 balls with a six to be the second highest scorer for the side in his T20I debut.

Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza hit a quick 17 runs off 8 balls involving two successive sixes in the 17th overs.

Litton Kumar Das scored 10 runs off 7 balls with a four while Arafat Sunny added not out 5 runs.

Eddie Leie grabbed three wickets for economic 16 runs in his three overs spell to be adjudged man of the match in his T20I debut.

Kyle Abbott and Aaron Phangiso also captured three wickets each for 20 and 30 runs respectively in 3.2 and 4 overs. Wayne Parnell took one wicket for 29 runs in three overs.

Winning the toss, South Africa opted to bat first and scored 169 runs losing 4 wickets in 20 overs.

South Africa started well as their opening stand between Quinton de Kock and world best cricketer AB de Villiers contributed 95 runs in 10.3 overs.

Spinner Arafat Sunny departed the Proteas opening pair grabbing Quinton de Kock who was caught by Sabbir Rahman after scoring 44 runs off 31 balls with four fours and two sixes.

All rounder Nasir Hossain deepened pressure over the visitors as he picked up Jean Paul Duminy (6 off 4b, 1X4) who came to stay with AB de Villiers, was caught by Bangladesh new bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman at 102 for 2 in 11.2 overs.

Nasir Hossain’s next delivery again carried bitter for the visitors as he grabbed big fish AB de Villiers keeping the side on the same score of 102 runs.

AB de Villiers scored 40 off 34 balls with six fours and was caught by world number one all rounder Shakib Al Hasan when scoreboard showing 102 for 3 in 11.3 overs.

Mustafizur Rahman off-cutter vanquished skipper Faf du Plessis (16 off 17b, 1X4), was caught by Mushfiqur Rahim at team’s 136 for 4 in 17.4 overs.

The Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis who hit unbeaten 79 runs in the first match which is the highest score for the side as well as for the series was adjudged player of the series.

David Miller and Rilee Rossouw contributed unbeaten 33 runs in 2.2 overs in the 5th wicket stand to carry team’s final score of 169 runs for 4 in 20 overs.

David Miller scored not out 30 runs off 28 balls with two fours and one six while Rilee Rossouw quick fired not out 19 off 6 balls with one four and two sixes.

Nasir Hossain grabbed two wickets for 26 runs in four overs while Arafat Sunny and Shakib Al Hasan took one wicket each for 31 and 34 runs respectively in their four overs apiece.


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected].