Space For Rent

Space For Rent
Thursday, August 13, 2015, Shraban 29, 1422 BS, Shawal 27, 1436 Hijr

Phantom of Death Haunts Bloggers-Part 5
Militants' hit-list preserved with police
Pulack Ghatack
Published :Thursday, 13 August, 2015,  Time : 12:00 AM  View Count : 80

 The list of the bloggers who are being killed one after another is well preserved with the law enforcing agencies since May 2013. Two Islamist organisations, Hefazat-e-Islam and Anjuman Al Bayyinat, formally handed over the lists of the "atheist bloggers" to the government.
Five bloggers in the lists have so far been attacked, four of who died on the spot and another survived narrowly. The government also prepared a list of 10 bloggers and the law enforcing agencies arrested four from the list. Though the law enforcers have the list of bloggers vulnerable to fatal attacks, they failed to ensure their security.
According to Home Ministry officials, the lists of the bloggers were prepared prior to the Hefazat-e-Islam's 'march toward Dhaka programme' on May 5, 2013. The government on March 13, 2013 formed a high level body named "Committee to find out and prosecute Bloggers and Facebook Users who are involved in criticising Islam and the Prophet."
Additional Secretary of the Home Ministry Mainuddin Khondker headed the committee comprising representatives from the ministries of law, information and information communication technology and officials of different agencies of the government.
The committee held four meetings from March to April. It opened an email for gathering information of atheists from the people. The committee received the names of 84 bloggers branded as atheists and made a short list of 10 out of them.
On April 2 2013, police arrested three bloggers Subrata Adhikari Shuvo, Russel Parvez and Mashiur Rahman Biplob out of the list. Another blogger Asif Mohiuddin was arrested the next day.
Anjuman Al Bayyinat in a meeting with the committee on March 31, 2013 handed over a list of 56 bloggers. They also provided another short list of 27 bloggers after collecting their particulars.
Basher Kella, a facebook page operated by Jamaat-e-Islami and Islami Chattra Shibir, published a list of 84 bloggers at that time. All the names of the 56 bloggers were included there.
On 14 January, 2013, atheist blogger Asif Mohiuddin was stabbed. Somehow he survived. On 15 February, 2013, Ahmed Razib Haider (Thaba Baba) was hacked to death. The militants killed four bloggers Avijit Roy, Washiqur Rahman Babu, Ananta Bijoy Das and Niladri Chaterjee in the last three months. Except Washiqur Babu, names of all other victims were in the list of 56 bloggers, provided by Anjuman Al Bayyinat. Babu's name was not even in the list of 84.
The 84 bloggers in the hit-list include: Arifur Rahman, Monir Hasan, Brittobondi, Sobak, Shoytan, Monjurul Haque, KaKhaGa, Rashel, Nastiker Dharmakatha, Durer Pakhi, Ariful Haque Tuhin, Titi Ana, Nazimuddin, Alamgir Kumkum, Farhaduddin Swapan, Dosshu Banhur, Farhana Ahmed, Ghonada, Rahan, Onyokeu, Papi 007, Horus, Proshnottor, Valo Manush, Vondopir, Boikuntha, Sotyannesi, Poruya, Hulk (Sanaul), Biplob 007, Rastar Chhele, Ghatok, Bishal BD, Sahoshi 6, Light House, Mamata Jahan, Ratmojur, Kowshik, Meghdut, Swopnokothok, Praypas, Ahmed Mostafa Kamal, Lukar, Nuhan, Sojakotha, Transistor, Deoyan, Rishat, Ami Ebong Adhar, Aranyadeb, Keltuda, Ami Rodher Chhele, Vinyochinta, Outsider, Pronob Acharjee, Asif Mohiuddin, Abul Kashem, Alamgir Hussain, Ananya Azad, Ananta Bijoy Das, Ashish Chaterjee, Avijit Roy, Biplob Kanti Dey, Daripalla Dhomadhom (Nitai Bhattacharjee), Ibrahim Khalil Sobak (Sumon Sowdagor), Kowshik, Ahmed, Nurnobi Dulal, Parvez Alam, Rajib Haider Shovon (Thaba Baba), Ratan (Sonnyasi), Soikot Chowdhury, Shormi Amin, Soumitra Mazumder (Soumya), Allamah Shoytan (Biplob), Shuvajit Bhowmik, Sumit Chowdhury, Soikot Barua, Subrata Shuvo, Shushanta Dasgupta, Sayed Kamran Mirza, Tahsin, Tanmoy, Talukdar and Zobaen Sondhi.
These bloggers are being killed one after another. Some bloggers used to write with multiple pen-names. As a result, different names of the same persons are found included in the list of 84. The list of 56 bloggers and 27 bloggers, which were prepared by Anjuman Al Bayyinat, appears to be more precise.

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]