Space For Rent

Space For Rent
Tuesday, October 27, 2015, Kartik 12, 1422 BS, Muharram 13, 1437 Hijri

National Cricket: Sylhet Div earn five-wicket victory hosts Chittagong Div
Observer Online Desk
Published :Tuesday, 27 October, 2015,  Time : 10:17 PM  View Count : 8
Sylhet Division earned a facile five-wicket victory over hosts Chittagong Division in a Tier-2 match of the four-day National Cricket League that concluded on the 4th and final day at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Tuesday.

Hosts Chittagong Division with first innings total of 270 runs
resumed the 2nd innings with overnight score of 188 for 6 and were
all out for 272 runs in 109.5 overs.

Yasir Ali, who was in batting with 41 runs, scored 81 runs off 133
deliveries hitting nine fours and one six while another watch batsman
Dollar Mahmud (17) made 79-ball 31 runs including one four and one

Rahatul Ferdous grabbed four wickets for 72 runs while Eanmul Haque
Jr bagged two for 75 runs.

Sylhet Division, having 283 runs in the first innings, opened the 2nd
innings with a winning target of 260 runs and smartly reached their
ultimate goal scoring 264 runs in 52.2 overs, featuring 140-run
opening pair by Imtiaz Hossain and Shahnaj Ahmed.

Shahnaj Ahmed scored the team highest 76 runs off 107 balls featuring
six boundaries in the 2nd innings in addition to first innings score
of 25 runs and was adjudged man of the match.

Another opener Imtiaz Hossain contributed 98-ball 74 runs hitting
seven fours while Zakir Hossain made 66-ball 55 runs including six

Nabil Samad claimed three wickets for 71 runs while Mehedi Hasan Rana
took two for 33 runs.

Chittagong Division first innings: 270 all out in 87.2 overs; Tasamul
Haque 74, Yasir Ali 55, Abul Hasan 4/34, Enamul Haque Jr 3/75.

2nd innings-272 all out in 109.5 overs (overnight 188 for 6 in 80
overs); Yasir Ali 81, Tasamul Haque 77, Nafees Iqbal 37, Dollar
Mahmud 31, Nabil Samad 21, Rahatul Ferdous 4/72, Enamul Haque Jr

Sylhet Division first innings: 283 all out 96.1 overs; Alok Kapali
46, Zakir Hossain 30, Eamul Haqu Jr 29, Rahatul Ferdous 27, Imtiaz
Ahmed 26, Shanaj Ahmed 25, Ejaz Ahmed 21, Mohammad Saifuddin 3/55,
Nabil Samad 3/86, Iftekhar Sajjad 2/43.

2nd innings 264 for 5 in 52.2 overs: Shahnaj Ahmed 76, Imtiaz Hossain
74, Zakir Hossain 55, Nabil Samad 3/71, Mehedi Hasan Rana 2/33.

The other match between Dhaka Metropolis Team and Khulna Division
ended a draw on the final day at Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in
Fatullah on Tuesday.

Dhaka Metropolis team with first innings total of 399 runs resumed
the 2nd innings with overnight 122 for 5 and were all out for 262

Night watch batsman Sharifullah (10) hammered 67 runs off 154 balls
with six boundaries, another night watch batsman Asif Ahmed (10)
scored 88-ball 32 runs with three fours in addition to Mehedi Maruf’s
44 and Shamsur Rahman 42 runs.

Mehedi Hasan Miraj and veteran spinner Abdur Razzak picked up three
wickets each conceding 58 and 136 runs respectively while Abu Bakkar
took two for 16 runs.

Chasing a target of 295 runs, Khulna Division opened the 2nd innings
and scored 84 for 2 in 20 overs when bails were drawn for the 4th and
final day (Tuesday).

Dhaka Metro first innings : 399 all out in 115.1 overs ; Shamsur
Rahman 144, Mahmudullah Riyad 132, Sharifullah 39, Mehedi Hasan Miraj
5/96, Abdur Razzak 2/113, Rabiul Islam 2/71.

2nd innings- 262 all out in 107.5 overs; (overnight score 122 for 5
in 44.1 overs) Sharifullah 67, Mehedi Maruf 44, Shamsur rahman 42,
Asif Ahmed 32, Mehedi hasan Miraj 3/58, Abdur razzak 3/136, Abu
Bakkar 2/16.

Khulna Division first innings: 367 all out in 103 overs; Imrul Kayes
163, Nurul Hasan 76, Abu haider 4/79, Asif Ahmed 2/10, Mahmudullah

2nd innings 84 for 2 in 20 overs; Anamul Haque 31, Mehedi Hasan 31,
Imrul Kayes not out 19.

The another match between Rangpur Divisison and Dhaka Division also
ended in a draw on the 4th and final day at the Shaheed Chandu
Stadium in Bogra on Tuesday.

Replying to Rangpur Division’s mammoth total of 463 runs, Dhaka
Division, having 276 runs in the first innings, opened the 2nd
innings with 34 for 1 and scored 247 for 4 in 98 overs at stumps on
the final day (Tuesday)

Night watch batsman Saif Hasan (6) contributed 84 runs off 267 balls
featuring 10 fours and one six, Nadif Chowdhury scored 77-ball 58
with two fours and three sixes while Raquibul Hasan made a patient
152-ball 42 runs to settle for draw.

Rangpur Division first innings : 463 all out in 152 overs ; Tariq
Ahmed 102, Dhiman Ghosh not out 101, Naeem Islam 100, Dewan Sabbir
4/96, Nazmul Islam 3/121, Mohammad Sharif 2/80.

Dhaka Division first innings: 276 all out in 94.1 overs: Raquibul
Hasan 79. Saif Hasan 44. Sharif 31, Mosharruf Hossain 31, Biswanath
Halder 3/37, Sajedul Islam 3/71 and Suvashih Roy 2/49.

2nd innings: 247 for 4 in 98 overs (overnight 34 for one in 21 overs)
Saif Hasan 84, Nadif Chowdhury not out 58, Raquibul Hasan 42.


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]