Sunday, December 6, 2015, Agrahayan 22, 1422 BS, Safar 23, 1437 Hijri

EC show-causing 3 AL MPs for violating poll code
Observer Online Desk
Published :Sunday, 6 December, 2015,  Time : 10:11 PM  View Count : 6
The Election Commission is set to show-cause three ruling Awami League MPs over allegations that they violated municipal polls code of conduct.

They are Barguna-2 MP Showkat Hasanur Rahman Rimon, Dhaka-20’s MA Maleque and Natore-2 legislator Md Shafiqul Islam Shimul.

They will have to submit their explanations to the Commission within three days, EC Secretary Md Sirajul Islam told on Sunday evening.

The EC made the move after the screening of the nomination papers ended earlier in the day.

The first-ever municipal election on political party lines is slated for Dec 30 in 234 municipalities.

EC officials said they decided to serve the show-cause notice on the three MPs after it was found out that they had breached the code by accompanying the candidates when they submitted the nomination papers, using helicopter and being involved in the campaign, despite a ban on such actions being in effect.

The secretary said they are also set to show-cause several other MPs over similar allegations.

Earlier in the afternoon, Election Commissioner Md Shah Nawaz told reporters that they will take measures against any violator of the code.

“You are lawmakers, please don’t break the law. Please don’t do anything that will embarrass us and make us uncomfortable,” he said addressing the MPs.

Sirajul Islam said they were also writing to the speaker of Parliament and the Cabinet Division requesting them to remind the ministers, MPs and other officials who enjoy government facilities of abiding by the code of conduct.


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]