Sunday, December 6, 2015, Agrahayan 22, 1422 BS, Safar 23, 1437 Hijri

EC rejects nominations of 117 mayoral hopefuls
Observer Online Desk
Published :Sunday, 6 December, 2015,  Time : 10:28 PM  View Count : 5
The nomination papers of at least 117 mayoral candidates, including three of Awami League and 14 of BNP, in different municipalities across the country were cancelled during the two-day scrutiny beginning on Saturday.

Besides, two Awami League mayoral candidates of the December-30 polls in Chandpur and Feni are set to be elected unopposed as nomination papers of their lone rival BNP contestants were cancelled during the first-day scrutiny.

If the Appellate Authorities, the Deputy Commissioners of the districts, uphold the decisions of the returning officers, the
Election Commission will have to declare the two ruling party mayoral aspirants elected uncontested after the December-13 deadline for the withdrawal of candidatures.

The nomination papers of at least 70 mayoral candidates, including three of Awami League and nine of BNP, in different municipalities across the country were cancelled on Sunday, the last day of scrutiny.

Besides, four Awami League rebel mayoral candidates and five BNP’s rebel mayoral aspirants also got their nomination cancelled during scrutiny on Sunday.

The three AL candidates whose nomination papers were rejected are Rafiqul Islam Kotwal in Shariatpur Sadar municipality, Humaiyun Kabir Bacchu in Damudya in Shariatpur and Abu Sayeed of Sreebardi municipality in Sherpur.

The municipalities where BNP’s mayoral contender’s nominations were turned down include Shibchar in Madaripur, Moheshpur in Jhenidah, Sariakanda in Bogra, Pirojpur, Golapganj in Sylhet, Sreebardi in Sherpur, Moulvibazar, Kamalganj, and Dhonbari in Tangail.

As the deadline for the submission of nomination expired on Thursday, the EC started scrutinising the nomination papers of mayoral and councillor candidates in 234 municipalities from Saturday.

The Election Commission also trashed the nomination papers of nearly 15 Jatiya Party mayoral candidates and nine Jamaat men who submitted their nominations to vie for the mayoral posts in nine municipalities.

With the completion of nomination papers scrutiny, at least 14 BNP’s mayoral candidates were declared disqualified for the election during the two-day scrutiny while three AL mayoral contestants got their nomination papers rejected.

Besides, the returning officers also rejected nominations of at least 30 AL rebel candidates and 28 BNP rebel contestants during the scrutiny.

The Commission also turned down the nomination of 33 mayoral aspirants of independent candidates and that of some small parties.

However, the aggrieved candidates will be able to challenge the decisions of the returning officers who cancelled their nominations to the Appellate Authorities within three days of the rejection, while the Appellate Authorities will have to dispose of the appeals within three days after the aggrieved aspirants lodge their petitions.

The last date for the withdrawal of candidature is December 13.

As per the EC’s latest statistics, a total of 13,634 mayoral and councillor aspirants filed nomination papers in 234 municipalities, excluding Singair municipality, to contest 3,147 mayoral and councillor posts of the local government bodies.

Of them, 1213 are mayoral aspirants against 234 posts, while 9760 are general councillor aspirants against 2183 posts and 2661 are women councillor hopefuls against 730 reserved seats.

A total of 20 political parties out of 40 registered with the Election Commission (EC) are participating in the municipal polls.


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]