Space For Rent
Thursday, February 18, 2016, Falgun 6, 1422 BS, Jamadiul Awwal 7, 1437 Hijri

Biswajit killing: SC stays convict’s bail
Observer Online Desk
Published :Thursday, 18 February, 2016,  Time : 10:10 PM  View Count : 0
The Supreme Court on Thursday stayed a High Court order that had granted bail to AHM Kibria, a lifer in the in the sensational Biswajit Das killing case.

A five-member bench of the Appellate Division, headed by Chief Justice SK Sinha, passed the order after hearing a petition filed by the state.

Tailoring shop employee Biswajit Das was chopped to death by Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) activists near Bahadur Shah Park in the old city during the BNP-led 18-party alliance’s countrywide road-blockade programme on December 9, 2012.

On December 18, 2013, a tribunal condemned eight BCL activists to death and 13 others to life imprisonment in the sensational killing case.

The convicts who got death sentence are M Rafiqul Islam alias Shakil, Rajon Talukdar (absconding), Mahfuzur Rahman alias Nahid, Emdadul Hoque alias Emdad, GM Rasheduzzaman alias Shawn, Mir M Nur-e Alam alias Limon (absconding), Saiful Islam alias Saiful and Kaium Miah alias Tipu.

The 13 convicts who were awarded life in prison are Golam Mustafa alias Mustafa, AHM Kibria, Khandaker M Yunus Ali, Tarique bin Juhar alias Tomal, M Alauddin, M Obaidul Quader alias Tahosin, Emran Hossain, Azizur Rahman, Al-Amin Sheikh, M Rafiqul Islam, Manirul Hoque alias Pavel, M Kamrul Hasan and Mosarraf Hossain.

With the appeal against the sentence, Kibria also filed a bail petition with the High Court which on February 3 granted bail to the lifer.

Later, the state moved the Supreme Court against the High Court order.


Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected].