Space For Rent
Saturday, February 27, 2016, Falgun 15, 1422 BS, Jamadiul Awwal 17, 1437 Hijri

Dhaka Bar polls
AL panel leading
Court Correspondent
Published :Saturday, 27 February, 2016,  Time : 12:00 AM  View Count : 27
The Awami League-led 14-party alliance, Sammilita Ainjibi Sammannay Parisad, commonly known as White Panel is heading toward a victory in the election to Dhaka Bar Association.
Till filling of this report at 10:30pm, nearly 6,000 votes were counted in which president candidate Saidur Rahman Manik and general secretary candidate Ayubur Rahman of the White Panel were leading.
Only three posts of Blue Panel Afroza Begum Shelly, Abu Bakkar Siddique and Shafiqul Islam as senior vice president, treasurer, and social welfare secretary were ahead with a narrow margin of votes.
Rest of the posts is likely to go to the White Panel of the pro-liberation lawyers. Among them are Abu Bakar Farhad, vice president, Abdus Salam Khan, senior assistant general secretary, Md Shahdat Hossain Bhuiyan, assistant general secretary, Ali Ahmmed Ali, library secretary, Lucky Akhter Flora, cultural secretary, Abdul Hai Mamun, office secretary and Baharul Alam Bahar, sports secretary.
The 15-member posts of White panel expected to win the election are Aminul Ahsan Masum, Emarat Hossain Bachchu, Hazera Begum Azra, Marium Begum Tuli, Billal Hossain Lijhon, Nurul Islam Talukhdar, Taibur Rahman Tohin, Abu Sayeed Siddique, Alauddin Khan, Khairul Islam, Sifuzzaman Tipu, Nur Hossain, Nasim Jahan Rubi, Noor Jahan Akhter and Shahida Parvin Nadi.
A total of 8,134 voters out of 15,050 cast their votes in two-day long elections to the Dhaka Bar Association for the session of 2016-17 held on Wednesday and Thursday at the Dhaka Bar auditorium.
The voters exercised their franchise to elect a 27-member executive committee of the Bar to run their office for the session 2016-17.
The Awami League-led 14-party alliance, Sammilita Ainjibi Sammannay Parisad, commonly known as White Panel and BNP-Jamaat led 20-party, Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikkya, identified as Blue Panel are contesting in the election. Besides, another panel under the banner of Bangladesh Shanti Ainjibi Parishad also nominated candidates to a few posts.
A 101-member committee led by Advocate Shah Alam Khan and commissioner Advocate Mahbubur Rahman conducted the two-day long election.

Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka. Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000. Phone :9586651-58. Fax: 9586659-60, Advertisemnet: 9513663, E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected].