Wednesday, 29 November, 2023, 3:50 AM
Advance Search
Home Election 2018

11th parliamentary polls

BNP winners won't take oath: Fakhrul

Published : Monday, 31 December, 2018 at 8:42 PM  Count : 3370

BNP winners won't take oath: Fakhrul

BNP winners won't take oath: Fakhrul

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Monday said that five candidates of the party, who won the 11th parliamentary polls, will not join the parliament, and even will refrain from taking oath.

He made the announcement after the party's official press conference on Sunday's election at BNP chief Khaleda Zia's Gulshan office, Dhaka.

Mirza Fakhrul said, "We have already rejected the results of the 11th national elections and demanded fresh polls. So, there is no question of joining parliament."

BNP standing committee members Gayeshwar Chandra Ray and Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury also echoed Mirza Fakhrul, reports a Bangla online newspaper.

Only five candidates of BNP have been able to secure victory in the 11th parliamentary elections that held across the country on Sunday. Elsewhere, with 'sheaf of paddy' symbol, two candidates of Gono Forum won two seats.

Whether Gono Forum candidates will take oath, it has not been confirmed yet.  


Related Topics

BNP   candidates   winners   oath   Fakhrul  

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], For Online Edition: [email protected]
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft