Thursday, 22 February, 2024, 3:58 AM
Advance Search

Norwegian Jon Fosse wins Nobel Prize in Literature

Published : Thursday, 5 October, 2023 at 5:28 PM  Count : 807

Norwegian Jon Fosse wins Nobel Prize in Literature

Norwegian Jon Fosse wins Nobel Prize in Literature

Norwegian Jon Fosse, 64, wins the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature. The Swedish Academy in Stockholm praised his innovative plays and prose, saying he gave voice to the unsayable.

The prize is awarded for a body of work, rather than a book - there is no shortlist and it is notoriously difficult to predict.

Fosse's major works include "Boathouse" (1989) and "Melancholy" I and II (1995-1996).
Previous winners include Toni Morrison, Doris Lessing, Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Bob Dylan.

Who is Jon Fosse?

Born in 1959, his works span 40 plays, a wealth of novels, essays, children's books and translations.

He is also one of the most recognised and widely performed playwrights.

In the words of the Swedish Academy, he "blends the nature of his Norwegian background with artistic technique" and is commended for "exposing human anxiety and ambivalence at its core" in his works.

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: info$, news$, advertisement$, For Online Edition: mailobserverbd$
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft