Thursday, 18 April, 2024, 4:41 AM
Advance Search

BSP Chief Saifuddin Maizbhanderi gets AL blessings to run for Ctg-2

Published : Sunday, 31 December, 2023 at 12:00 AM  Count : 308

CHATTOGRAM, Dec 30: The ruling Awami League has ceded another parliamentary seat to election partner, Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP), in Ctg-2 (Fatikchhari) for the 12th Parliamentary election on January 7.

In Ctg-2 constituency Khadizatul Anwar Sony is contesting with AL symbol Boat against Independent candidate Hussain M Abu Tayyib, a local AL leader and former upazila Chairman. From this constituency, Syed Saifuddin Ahmed Maizbahnderi, President of Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP) and Nazibul Basher Maizbhanderi Preident of Bangladesh Tarikat Federation have been contesting as candidates from their respective parties.

In the Past 11th parliamentary election, Nazibul Basher Maizbhanderi was elected MP from this constituency as an election partner of the Ruling Awami League. But strangley, the Ruling Party did not extend its support to Nazibul Basher Maizbhanderi for the ensuing 12th parliamentary election.

According to AL insiders, General Secretary Obaidul Quader asked the local leaders of Chattogram district North unit including the President and General Secretary to work for BSP Candidate Syed Saifuddin Maizbhanderi.  Obaidul Quader also asked the AL nominated candidate Khadizatul Anwar Sony to give up the seat to BSP President.

With the Ctg-2 seat, the total number of Election partner of AWami League stood at four in the Chattogram region.

Despite the withdrawal of AL candidate, BSP President will have to face strong opposition from Independent candidate Hussain M Abu Tayyib, a local AL leader and former upazila Chairman and Nazibul Basher Maizbhanderi  Preident of Bangladesh Tarikat Federation.

Earlier the Ruling Awami league had ceded two seats to Jatiya Party in Chattogram and one seat in Coxs Bazar districts to Kallyan Party.  The constituencies are Ctg-5 (Hathazari) and Ctg-8 (Boalkhali-Chandgaon) and Coxs Bazar-1 (Chakoria-Pekua).

Earlier the ruling Awami League nominated the Chattogram North Awami League President Abdus Salam in Hathazari and the incumbent lawmaker Noman Al Mahmud in Boalkhali-Chandgaon seat.

After the party decision, the Ruling Party withdrew their candidates for the incumbent MP Anisul Islam Mahmud for Hathazari and Solaiman Alam Sheth for Boalkhali-Chandgaon Constituencies. Both are candidates of Jatiya Party.

In Ctg-8 (Boalkhali-Chandgaon), JP candidate Solaiman Alam Sheth is facing the strong opposition of Abdus Salam former Treasurer of the city unit of AL and former Chairman of Chattogram Development Authority (CDA) as Independent. Besides, Bijoy Kumar Chowdhury, an AL-rebel candidate is contesting as an Independent candidate from the constituency.

In Ctg-5 (Hathazari) seat Jatiya Party Candidate Barrister Anisul Islam Mahmud an alliance partner is contesting against AL-rebel Shahjahan Chowdhury who is contesting with Kettle symbol and Trinamool BNP candidate and former CUCSU VP Nazimuddin.

Meanwhile, there is no candidate of rulung party in Coxs Bazar-1 (Chokoria-Pekua) constituency. Salahuddin Ahmed CIP has been nominated by the Ruling Awami League. But his candidacy has been cancelled for bank loan default. From this constituency, Maj Gen (retd) Syed Muhammad Ibrahim, Chief of Kalyan Party is now contesting for the next general polls. He is to fight against the incumbent MP and AL-rebel Jafar Alam.

Besides, the election campaign has been continuing in all 23 constituencies of  Chattogram region for the ensuing 12th parliamentary election on January 7.

Some 154 candidates of various political parties including the ruling Awami League have been contesting in 23 parliamentary seat of Chattogram region.

Among 16 constituencies of Chattogram district, a total of 120 are contesting in the 12th parliamentary polls. Meanwhile a total of 24 are contesting from 4 constituencies of Coxs Bazar district. In three constituencies of three Hill districts a total of 9 candidates have been contesting.

Most of the candidates have started the election campaign in their respective constituencies.

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: info©, news©, advertisement©, For Online Edition: mailobserverbd©
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft