Saturday, 18 May, 2024, 3:21 PM
Advance Search

Australia Womens tour of Bangladesh 2024

Tigresses all set for T20i series forgetting ODI fiasco

Published : Sunday, 31 March, 2024 at 12:00 AM  Count : 120

The three-match bilateral T20i series between hosts Bangladesh Womens Cricket team and their Australian counterparts will commence today. After a clean sweep in ODIs, the mighty Aussies are upbeat to prolong their dominance in the 20-over format too, while the Tigresses are ready to pounce putting their ODI nightmare behind them.

The match will kick off at 12:00 noon (BST) at the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

The 9th-ranked Bangladesh side can hope for big things in this format against the top-ranked Australia. In T20i cricket, a single partnership with the bat or a couple of good overs with the ball can determine the result of the game regardless of the opponents.

The Tigresses drew the three-match T20i series with South Africa before entering this series, before which they clinched the title against Pakistan at home. Recent success in this particular format will boost the girls in red and green before their first-ever bilateral series against Australia.

On the other hand, the Aussies have only conceded one defeat in their last five matches and sealed both of their last two series against India and South Africa.

Bangladesh however, dropped three players from the ODI squad as Fargana Hoque Pinky failed to make any impact in the three matches, while Nishita Akter Nishi was out for a duck on debut in the third and last match of the series, was also dropped.
However, Murshida Khatun and Sobhana Mostary will open the Bangladesh innings in the absence of Shamima Sultana. Nigar Sultana Joty, Sumaya Akter, Shorna Akter and Ritu Moni will bat in the middle order, while all-rounders like Rabeya Khatun, Sultana Khatun,and Fahima Khatun will join specialist bowlers Nahida Akter and Marufa Akter.

The Australian lineup comprises formidable players such as Phoebe Litchfield, Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Grace Harris, Georgia Wareham, Anabel Sutherland, skipper Alyssa Healy, wicketkeeper Beth Mooney, Kim Garth, Alana King and Tayla Vlaeminck. Australia are clearly favourites in the game.

SBNCS usually favors batters with substantial assistance for spinners. The weather conditions are favorable and the team winning the toss is likely to opt for batting first to set a competitive total.

Latest News
Most Read News
Editor : Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury
Published by the Editor on behalf of the Observer Ltd. from Globe Printers, 24/A, New Eskaton Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
Editorial, News and Commercial Offices : Aziz Bhaban (2nd floor), 93, Motijheel C/A, Dhaka-1000.
Phone: PABX- 41053001-06; Online: 41053014; Advertisement: 41053012.
E-mail: info©, news©, advertisement©, For Online Edition: mailobserverbd©
  [ABOUT US]     [CONTACT US]   [AD RATE]   Developed & Maintenance by i2soft